Hi Ho, Hi Ho it’s… oh the train is late.

Day 3: What are your top five pet peeves?

When I was thinking about what I was going to write for today, I was really proud of myself because I didn’t think I had any pet peeves. But then I thought back to the last time I was irritated and it was on a train. The floodgates opened up with annoyances left, right and centre and now I have my five pet peeves to tell you about, all related to commuting life!

  1. Paying top dollar to commute to work and not getting a seat. I don’t grudge paying to commute to work, I chose to live further away, I knew it would take longer and cost more to get there. The one thing that really annoys me though is not getting a seat. This is sometimes made even worse by the fact that there are twenty other people in the carriage who cannot get a seat and are standing up the aisles, in the vestibules and every other nook and cranny. Reduced fare if you have to stand on the train? Yes please.
  2. People getting up prematurely on a train. This probably annoys me more than it should, especially when I am a also getting off at the station. There is plenty of time to get of the train so please let us enjoy the commute for as long as we possibly can before we have to head on the final leg to the office. I’ll let you off if you’ve got a lot of luggage.
  3. Not getting through the barriers at the station first time. When this happens, and sometimes it does, it makes my blood boil. What. An. Inconvenience. If I can’t get through first time I dramatically let out a loud sigh and head to a manned barrier to get help getting through. It all but adds an extra 30 seconds to my commute but in the hustle and bustle of life at that exact moment in time, it’s a 30 seconds you grudge giving.
  4. Trains that can’t stick to a timetable. I’m okay with a train being late every now and then, I’m human after all, I understand that things come up last minute. But if you’re going to be late every day please do have a word with yourself. I’m looking at you ScotRail. The train I get to work is always at least 3 minutes late. Again, this is 3 minutes of my commute I grudge giving away.
  5. Having to ask people to move to get a seat when they sit on the aisle seat. As you can probably tell, I like to have a seat on the train, as uncomfortable as they may be. So when people make it more difficult for me to get to a seat, yes it is irritating. However, there is a part of me that enjoys asking people to move because it inconveniences them a little.

Despite the irritations involved in commuting I do enjoy it. It’s a good chance to sit and think about nothing, or to read a book, listen to music, play a game, aimlessly browse the social media offering or even knit! The commute is good so long as you have a seat. Here are five things I like about commuting.

  1. Sitting down (when you can, which is most of the time!)
  2. Going over the Forth Rail Bridge everyday
  3. Looking out the window
  4. People watching
  5. Catching up on reading, social media, the news or just sitting thinking about nothing
img_0814
Forth Rail Bridge, Sunny Day 2016

 

Leave a Reply

