The Journey

Day 2: Where would you like to be in ten years?

I HATE this question. Probably because I associate it with the stress of getting asked this in an interview. I don’t know! Just hire me and we’ll figure the rest out later. I was asked this in my last job interview, I can’t remember how I swung it but I got the job and now I’m trying to figure it out. Five months into the post I could maybe tell you where I’d like to be in 2 years maximum, so we’re getting there.

It’s interesting to be asked this question from a personal perspective, well that’s how I’m dealing with it, because this isn’t a job interview, I don’t need to pretend I would like to explore further qualifications or move up through the ranks. It’s interesting because at this stage of my life I kind of do know where I would like to be in ten years time from a non-work perspective. When I was 13, did I know where I wanted to be when I hit 23? Nope. Now I am 23, I have a much better idea.

Let’s fast forward to 2027 (ouch!)… I’m 33, probably married, probably a homeowner, maybe with a couple of kids in tow, maybe even a pet. But definitely happy.

“Life is a journey, not a destination” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Now you know where I’d like to be in ten years time. It may be vague but I’m looking forward to arriving at that stage in my life. But more than that I am looking forward to the adventure of getting there. I’m looking forward to packing my bags and heading to the airport. I’m looking forward to going through security and boarding the plane. I’m looking forward to the in-flight entertainment and the anticipation ahead of getting of the plane at the other end. I’m looking forward to reaching the destination but I’m also looking forward to purchasing my plane ticket and planning the trip.

And there you have it, a blog post about where I want to be in ten years time. Almost as vague as when asked in a job interview.

Leave a Reply

