So Good They Named It Twice, Like Peri-Peri Chicken.

New York, New York! There are so many movies and TV shows set in New York City and every time I watch one I am insanely jealous of these characters getting to live it up in the big apple! I was lucky enough to visit NYC last summer and now I understand the I heart NYC merchandise because I love NYC too. I thought I would share some of the things I enjoyed most in New York.

Times Square 

IMG_2186

What a place! Among all the attractions in NYC, Times Square was my absolute favourite. You could sit (or stand) for hours just taking it all in, watching all the people go by and being mesmerised by the bright lights. There are a lot of characters hanging about Times Square, guaranteed to make you laugh or put a smile on your face with their blunt remarks or hard sell techniques.

9/11 Memorial Museum 

 IMG_2248

Seems weird to say that I enjoyed this museum considering the reasons why it exists but I couldn’t rate the 9/11 Memorial Museum more highly. The museum has artefacts associated with the events of 9/11, tributes to those who lost their lives and stories from those who helped. The museum was interesting and really moved me, I think this is because this event happened in my lifetime and I remember it happening. I felt a bit weird taking the above photo but wanted to capture the moment. The artist tried to recreate the colour of the sky the morning of the attacks and each square represents a person who lost their life.

Empire State Building

IMG_2278

Once the tallest building in the world, the iconic landmark is an absolute must for anyone visiting New York City. The queue was quite lengthy but it was 100% worth the wait, you also get an audio guide to listen to which makes your wait a little more enjoyable. The views from the observation deck, as you can imagine, are out of this world. Looking out and enjoying the view, knowing that everyone around you was also just enjoying the view was a nice feeling. We visited the Rockefeller Centre at night time which is ideal as you get to see the Empire State Building lit up.

 Central Park 

IMG_2305

New York’s garden brings peace to the concrete jungle that is New York. I can imagine myself being very happy going for a jog here (not that I am a jogger.) We spent a good while walking about the park and didn’t even cover a quarter of it. We also spent a lot of time looking for the zoo. Funny story about the zoo, my sister-in-law remarked, completely seriously, that it was a wonder they haven’t made a movie about the animals escaping from the zoo. We laughed and laughed as this was literally the plot of Madagascar! So when we visited the Museum of Natural History I said to her that I was surprised they hadn’t made a movie about the exhibitions coming to life during the night.

We had an action-packed, hectic 4 days in NYC and the above is only a very small percentage of things we got up to. Other attractions included: Grand Central Station, New York Public Library, Museum of Natural History, Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum, Madame Tussauds, visiting Brooklyn, going to a show on Broadway, New York Water Taxi, New York Skyride (terrible) and searching many CVS stores for a Baby Ruth. I would 100% recommend a trip to New York and I can’t wait for my next visit. Hopefully next time I will visit at New Year. New York, New Year, New me? 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Ooh, what show did you see on Broadway? Looks like you had a great time in NYC!

    Like

    1. peskytourist says:

      We saw Finding Neverland, was really good. Love a musical!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

